Taking Things for Granted

I had never thought that I was the type of person who took things for granted. After all, I was happy with what I had. Recently however, many things that I had taken for granted was taken away from me; only temporarily but it was enough to show me that life isn’t always as joyful and simple as I had previously thought.

The part of my life that I am now most grateful for are the people I have around me. I had previously had the impression that I would always have people that are very close to me; I had taken them for granted. Recently, I have realised that these people can be lost quite easily if I continue to take them for granted, and even how easily a life can be taken away. Therefore, I’ve learnt that time spent with the people around us should be savoured, because we have a lifetime with ourselves but not necessarily with others.

This has also led me to realise that something as simple as my life should also not be taken for granted. Although this is a really depressing thought, there is always a chance that I do not wake up one morning, or that I am in involved in an accident that takes my life. Thinking about these things has made me realise that life is precious and due to the fact that we do not get a second chance at life, we should try to make the most out of them. The best way to do that, I think, is to end up having a positive impact on other people, because then not only do we make our own lives better but we also help make the lives of other people just a little bit better as well.

Overall, I have realised that the position we are in at the moment can be completely different within a day or a decade, for better or worst. As we will never be able to predict our exact situation in the future, we should make the most out of what we have now. However in order to do that, we have to see the positive aspects of our lives and make the most out of them. If at this moment there are no positive aspects then we should try our best to turn the negative situations around. In some respects, turning a negative situation around is even better than making the most out of positive situations, and the worse the situation was then the better the feeling is after getting through it. Therefore, having many bad situations in your life isn’t necessarily a negative thing, it could just be your key to happiness.

Leave a Reply

